What is Encryption? | Types of Encryption- Exploitbyte

Type of Encryption


Data Encryption Standard (DES)

Triple Data Encryption Standard (3DES)

Advanced Encryption Standard (AES)

RC4, RC5, and RC6 Algorithms

  • RC5 :- RC5 is a fast symmetric-key block cipher designed by Ronald Rivest for RSA data security. The algorithm is a parameterized algorithm with a variable block size, variable key size, and a variable number of rounds. The block sizes can be 32, 64, or 128 bits. The range of the rounds can vary from 0 to 255, and the size of the key can vary from 0 to 2040 bits. This built in variability can offer flexibility at all levels of security. Routines used in RC5 are key expansion, encryption, and decryption.
  • In the key expansion routine, the secret key that a user provide is expanded to fill the key table. The RC5 uses key table for both encryption and decryption. The encryption routine has three fundamental operations: integer addition, bitwise XOR, and variable rotation. The Intense use of data-dependent ratation, plus the combination of different of different operations, makes RC5 a secure encryption algorithm.

Digital Signature Algorithm (DSA)

Rivest Shamir Adleman (RSA)

Message Digest Function (MD)

Message Digest 5

Secure Hashing Algorithm (SHA)

  • SHA-0 :- retronym applied to the original version of 160-bit hash function published in the year 1993 under the name SHA, which was withdrawn from the trade due to undisclosed “significant flaw” in it and was replaced with slightly revised version SHA-1.
  • SHA-1 :- It is a 160-bit hash function that resembles the former MD5 algorithm developed by Ron Rivest. it produces a 160-bit digest from a message with a maximum length of (264–1) bits. It was designed by the National Security Agency (NSA) to be part of the Digital Signature Algorithm (DSA). It is most commonly used in security protocols such as PGP, TLS, SSH, and SSL. As of 2010, SHA-1 is no longer approved for cryptographic use because of cryptographic weaknesses.
  • SHA-2 :- SHA-e is a family of two similar hash functions, with different block sizes, namely, SHA-256, which uses 32-bit words, and SHA-512, which uses 64-bit words. Truncated versions of each standard are SHA-224 and SHA 384.
  • SHA-3 :- SHA-3 uses the sponge construction in which message blocks are XORed into the initial bits of the state, which the algorithm then invertibly permutes. It supports the same hash lengths as SHA-2 and differs in its internal structure considerebly from rest of the SHA family.



Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store